Moscow City Symphony
Russian Philharmonic

Winter Daydreams

Winter Daydreams
Date and time: 
Monday, November 17, 2014 - 18:00
Venue: 
Moscow International House of Music. Svetlanov Hall
Program: 
P. Tchaikovsky. Concerto for violin and orchestra
P. Tchaikovsky. Symphony № 1 «Winter Daydreams»
P. Tchaikovsky. The Four Seasons, orchestration by A. Gauk
Conductor: 
Dmitri Jurowski
Soloist: 
Sergey Ostrovsky, violin

One of the most popular concertos in violin classics – Concerto for violin and orchestra by Tchaikovsky – will be performed by Sergey Ostrovsky – first violinist and the founder of the “Aviv” String Quartet (1996), First Concertmaster of Orchestre de la Suisse Romande in Geneva. Sergey Ostrovsky is a winner of the 3rd Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition (1999, Grand Prix and 4 Special Prizes), Bordeaux String Quartet Competition (2003), Aviv National Music Competition (1999,Tel Aviv) and other top prizes: “Schubert and Modernity” Competition (2003, Graz, Austria, 2nd Prize and Schubert Prize) and Rodolfo Lipizer Violin Competition (Italy, 1995). From 2009 - Professor of the Geneva Conservatory. Sergey Ostrovsky performed at the best venues of the world, including Carnegie Hall (New York), Kennedy Center (Washington), Wigmore Hall and Royal Festival Hall (London), Sydney Opera House, Cologne Philharmonic Hall, Konzerthaus Vienna, P. Tchaikovsky Concert Hall (Moscow), Valencia Concert Hall.

Young Tchaikovsky completed his first symphony in 1866, soon after moving to Moscow, where he became professor at the new Conservatory. Numerous pages of the symphony called “Winter Daydreams” elicit associations with poetic winter landscapes. Writing to P. Jurgenson in 1886 about the upcoming performance of the First Symphony, the composer commented: “Although it is in many ways very immature, yet fundamentally it has more substance and is better than any of my other more mature works. I love this symphony a lot”.

Prominent Soviet conductor Alexander Gauk grasped and felt deeply the essence of Tchaikovsky’s music. The conductor’s repertoire includes all symphonic works of the great Russian composer. Gauk did not only arrange The Four Seasons by Tchaikovsky (a set of pieces for piano), but also gently preserved the most peculiar details and conveyed the charm and unique character of each piece.

Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31

симфонический оркестр Москвы
Русская филармония

Зимние грезы

Зимние грезы
Дата и время: 
Понедельник, Ноябрь 17, 2014 - 18:00
Место проведения: 
Московский международный Дом музыки. Светлановский зал
Программа: 
П.Чайковский. Концерт для скрипки с оркестром
П.Чайковский. Симфония № 1 «Зимние грезы»
П.Чайковский. Времена года, оркестровка А.Гаука
Дирижер: 
Дмитрий Юровский
Солисты: 
Сергей Островский, скрипка

Один из самых популярных в скрипичной литературе  – концерт для скрипки с оркестром П.Чайковского исполнит Сергей  Островский - первая скрипка и основатель струнного квартета "Авив", первый концертмейстер Оркестра Романской Швейцарии в Женеве. Сергей Островский - победитель III Международного конкурса камерной музыки в Мельбурне (1999, Гран-при и 4 специальных приза), Конкурса струнных квартетов в Бордо (2003), Национального музыкального конкурса "Авив" (1999, Тель-Авив); лауреат Международного конкурса "Шуберт и современность" (2003, Грац, Австрия, 2 премия и специальный приз), Международного конкурса им. Родольфо Липицера (1999, Италия). С 2009 года является профессором Женевской консерватории. Сергей Островский выступал в лучших концертных залах мира, включая Карнеги Холл (Нью-Йорк), Кеннеди Центр (Вашингтон), Wigmore Hall и Royal Festival Hall (Лондон), Сиднейский оперный театр, Кёльнская филармония, Венский Концертхаус, Концертный зал им. П.И. Чайковского (Москва), Концертный зал Валенсия.

Свою первую симфонию молодой Чайковский  закончил в 1866 г., вскоре после переезда в Москву, где он стал профессором недавно открывшейся консерватории. Многие страницы симфонии, названной «Зимние грезы», вызывают ассоциации с поэтичными зимними пейзажами. Сообщая П.И.Юргенсону в 1886 году о предстоящем исполнении Первой симфонии, композитор писал о своем сочинении: «Хотя оно во многих отношениях очень незрело, но в сущности, содержательнее и лучше других, более зрелых. Симфонию эту я очень люблю».

Выдающийся советский дирижер Александр Гаук глубоко понимал и чувствовал сущность музыки Чайковского. В репертуаре дирижера были представлены все симфонические произведения великого русского композитора. Гаук не просто оркестровал широко известный фортепианный цикл «Времена года» Чайковского, он бережно сохранил наиболее характерные детали и передал всю прелесть и неповторимость каждой пьесы.

 
Пн Вт Ср Чт Пт Сб Вс
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31